“Don’t you know?”

I had an encounter with God today. During worship we sang a song about the cross. I closed my eyes and imagined myself kneeling before the cross, Jesus hanging there, looking down at me. I little morbid I know, but go with me. I said “I’m sorry. I’m sorry for my sin that helped put you there.”

While I was reveling in my repentance and sorrow a new image of Jesus interrupted my happily depressed scene. He came, bounding almost, right up to me. He was clean, whole, not bloody at all, dressed casually, with a smile on his face. He lifted up my chin and said, “Don’t you know I came to bring you life?” and then skipped away. Almost like he wanted me to follow.

The whole picture caught me off-guard, but made me smile.

My pastor Tom got up and shared about an up-coming knee surgery where they take a ligament from a cadaver and put it into the knee. Personally I just find that disgusting. But, he went on to talk about how someone else had to die in order for that ligament to be available to him. Part of someone else’s life will now be in his knee.

Isn’t that the same with Jesus? He died, not so that we would live in a constant state of despair, sin, guilt, shame, and death, but so that we might live! “Don’t you know that I came to bring you life?”

Death before Jesus wasn’t a pretty thing. In the Old Testament when you died that was it. There was no concept of eternity. Death was the end. But Jesus conquered death. He rose. And promises us eternal life. Death is no longer the end.

I’ve been listening to a lot of John Mark Mcmillan. One of his songs, Death in His Grave has this line, “Then Jesus Christ laid, death in his grave”. And somehow, someway, we get life because of that.

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full” (John 10:10).

So maybe there’s something to this encounter. At least something to ponder. “Don’t you know that I came to bring you life?”

Leave a Reply

