I don’t feel very thankful

Being the season of Thanksgiving, reading about prayers of adoration and praise, and the general merriment around made me realize: I really don’t feel like being thankful. I have many assignments to complete, not many friends in Lincoln City, stressful relationships, and in general I feel pretty lonely, frustrated, and down-trodden. So what is with all this giving thanks? And more importantly, can I still give thanks when I don’t feel like it?

I thought I’d give it a try. My plan: a cup of earl gray tea, paper, crayons, and John Mark McMillan.

So I taped together some paper and put the tea kettle on the stove. Then I burnt my hand on the hot mug. After an extensive, frustrating search I finally found the crayons. I blasted some John Mark McMillan and sat on the floor with my paper palette, crayons and tea. After the bubble letters “I am thankful for:” I just drew/wrote whatever came to mind.

It turns out there are plenty of things I’m glad for. Lots of people, butterflies, music, rain, the beach, God.

Drawing all this out didn’t solve my life. But it did remind me that even in storms, smoke and mess – God is still good.

 

Leave a Reply

