Why God is a better writer than me

There is something powerful about a story. Words put together to communicate life. You can share these mini-works over coffee, around the dinner table, or through the vast advances of technology. You can see them in paintings, sunsets, and pictures.

Sometimes I like to write my own story. Poems, with a little slam. Collages of important impressions. Talking to people.

Then there are times I get a little crazy and try to plan my life out. I structure my ideas like a plot, a path showing which way I’m headed.

To date, God (nearly) always messes it up. Seriously. Repeatedly.

I find myself going one direction and suddenly I’m hit with a 2 by 4, or a wall, or scripture, or revelation and BAM: redirected.

From these reoccurring experiences I see two possible actions: become a better writer, or admit that maybe I love and serve a God who can handle writing my story. If I choose the second, perhaps I’ll discover that God even has better plans than me.

2 thoughts on “Why God is a better writer than me

  1. As I look back I marvel at how God has been by far the better writer of my life. If so, then why do I sometimes worry about the future? He has proven himself Worthy of complete trust. My job is to completely trust and live, think and feel as one at peace with God’s plan and faithfulness.

    Thanks again for your thoughts.
    Blessings,
    Penny

  2. About all we humans can do as writers is try to imitate perfection. We’ll never get there on Earth; we just have to do the best we can.

    Dr. B, author, “The Mandolin Case”

Leave a Reply

