Give your face a break

I’ve been pondering the idea of wholeness lately. What does it look like to be whole in a broken world? What does peace look like while breathing the air of violence?

I don’t have any answers to these questions. Just more questions that lead to little rabbit trails that also don’t lead to answers. Sometimes getting down to the basics helps me center back to some sense of contentment. Getting rid of the “extra” can guide tumultuous souls back to fully living.

Today I didn’t wear any make-up. This wasn’t too much of a trial since I planned to spend the day alone, resting at home. However there came a point where I had to go to Freddies to get toilet paper and then the dilemma came. You see, I spent a couple formative years in Texas, where to go to the grocery store without make-up was practically a sin.

So I embarked on a potentially shaming, potentially freeing experience to the store. With no black-brown stuff on my eyes. It wasn’t life changing. Answers to my nagging questions weren’t suddenly written in the clouds when I stepped out of the automatic doors.

But there is something felt when we peel back the layers, some truth that is revealed in a way only souls can understand.

Now there’s a mystery to be loved.

 

One thought on “Give your face a break

  1. I loved your post. I think we need to live the questions and allow the answers to reveal themselves in their own way and in their own time. Peeling back the layers as you said so the soul can breath is a way of making space for wholeness (holiness) to happen.

Leave a Reply

