A Woman God

Sometimes I have a hard time knowing how to talk about God. There’s that awkward moment when I can’t just say “God” and have to choose a pronoun. The vast majority of my experience, inside and outside the church, suggests the correct answer is “he”. It’s everywhere really. In our songs. Our prayers. Our language about God. After all, if God is “Father” and “Son” it makes sense to use masculine descriptor words.

Lately this has been a sore subject for me. Every time I hear someone say “he” in reference to God I autocorrect “or she” in my head (and sometimes out loud). This happens simultaneously with a feeling of being stabbed repeatedly in the side with a sharp little knife saying “God is male, God is male”. I don’t think this is the intention of those who use male pronouns, but that’s how I react. Something within me wants to scream and explode and hide and cry and storm out. All at the same time.

I want God to be personal. Accessible beyond a transcendent being who I can’t talk to, picture, or see. But in all the male images and way of speaking of God, as a woman, I feel a little lost. Wasn’t I created in God’s image too? If female and male is all a part of God’s image, doesn’t that mean that there’s a “she” in God too?

I’m not suggesting that we rid the world of male pronouns for God. Obviously those have been and can be very meaningful ways of interacting with our Creator. However, I am saying that we’ve left out an essential part of how we understand God. And we should do something about it. We can start by entering into the rich, barely-explored, meaningful, beautiful space that is the “she” of God.

5 thoughts on “A Woman God

  1. I am convinced that God IS both
    male and female…
    father and mother…
    sister and brother…
    bride and bridegroom…

    I will confess to you that throughout my life, there has been an inward search…
    outwardly also, when young…
    and now again, while older…
    for a perfect woman. Maybe not perfect for someone else,
    but perfect for me…
    One who would love my strengths,
    celebrate them, while also,
    telling me,
    showing me,
    helping me
    dig them from the depths of Imago Dei which I keep deeply buried within my own shame.

    A woman who could reach within the defensiveness of my
    emparrassment and resistance
    to touch the pain connected to my weakness. To caress it with
    the kindness,
    the gentleness,
    the sweetness,
    of grace.

    A woman of beauty whose sensuality flows from mountains of passion which teem with life-giving, and affirming abundance. Who is unafraid to lay bare
    before me,
    beside me,
    beneath me.

    A woman of intelligence, without the need to degrade my own; and not threatened by my masculinity, yet smiles when I express my own feminine side.

    Yes, the woman in my dreams…
    in my heart…
    for which my soul longs…
    and my eyes search…

    I am finding…

    Is God…

    Yet I still long to be held…

    to be hugged…

    for a smile…

    for the music of laughter…

    as a foretaste…

    of Home.

  2. I see your point completely, but I don’t think its that simple, I think God is God and honestly when I lost my father, I wanted someone else to call my father and so that was where I found my peace, in calling God my father. Others may find their peace in calling God their mother. I think God is all to all and it can’t be summed up in a he or she. I love your honesty! You are a beautiful woman!

Leave a Reply

