Peace in Chaos

Things have ben a bit chaotic around here. I’m getting married in a little over three weeks. I’m finishing up the semester. And life is just swimming with things to do.

In the midst of this, I am trying to remain calm, centered, and present. It’s actually quite difficult. People keep encouraging me to enjoy the moment, not to worry, and more supposed-to-make-everything-better kinds of words, but it’s actually much easier said than done!

I am finding brief moments of calm. Yesterday evening I spent several hours with my dad, making art. We took the driftwood I found at the beach, and attached little doorknobs to them to make jewelry hangers. We put some of his drawings in mats and frames. It was so calming to create together.

Last week I saw this log on the beach, looking quite weathered from the many storms its been through. I took a picture and put it up on my etsy shop, entitled “Endurance“. I think peace is always near, and I’m growing in my ability to be aware of it. Staying the course through the chaos is growing me. A good friend told me the other day, “Growth comes out of tension”. It may not be fun, but good is coming.

A great means to preserve continual peace and tranquillity of soul is to receive everything from the hands of God, both great and small, and in whatever way it comes. -St. Dorotheus

Leave a Reply

