Fashion Confessions

I’m not gonna lie, I’m a sucker for cheap, trendy clothing. The other day, Dan got his hair cut at the mall, and I went adventuring to Forever 21. The moment you cross the store threshold, popular pop music rocks your ears, and all the latest neon, prints, and florals fight for your attention.

It’s really overwhelming. I try to act like I’ve done this a million times, and wipe the I-don’t-know-what-I’m-doing look off my face. You see, while I love the idea of getting a cheap cute dress that I’m not going to spend hours making, I feel out of place. As I look around at the other girls and women, I start to compare myself to them. Then the questions come.

Am I as cool as them? Do I have any fashion sense at all? Should I have worn a different shirt? Is this purse as hip as I thought it was? Are they judging me?

As much as I don’t want to admit that I care about what these random strangers think about me, I do. And once the comparison game starts, it’s hard to stop.

Sometimes I just need to take a deep breath and remember that the clothes I wear aren’t the only things that make me special. I like the trendy clothing, but more than that – I like being me. The crazy, messy, creative, weird, imaginative me that sometimes picks the “uncool” purse and likes glitter on my shoes. There might be something pretty cool about that anyway.

What about you? How much time do you spend comparing yourself to others? What are the beautiful and unique things that make you, you?

Leave a Reply

