I almost died

Today marks 5 years from a simultaneously scary and sacred day. 5 years ago, my dad rushed me to the hospital where I discovered I had a ruptured appendix, that it had likely ruptured TWO DAYS before and I was now in danger of losing my life. After lots of drugs, emergency surgery, and waking up to a hospital ceiling, I was told that the infection in my body was really bad, that I was really sick, and that I might not make it.

I couldn’t eat for a week. It hurt to move, to be touched, to walk, to do anything. Strength left my body. There came a time where I wasn’t sure if I could keep going. I didn’t know if I had anything left in me. And I seriously considered giving up, letting go, being done. My mother sat with me while I stared at the line between death and life. Finally I said, “Fine, I won’t give up. But I’m not sure how this is going to work.”

Well, something must have worked because I’m alive. My strength slowly came back over the next months and I saw the world differently. I went around to all my friends and told them why they were special to me. I started appreciating each moment, each breathe as sacred and precious.

This morning I woke up with a stomach ache and a whole mix of emotions. This afternoon it dawned on me – today’s the day I almost died. I think my body remembers, and was trying to tell me “Hey, something important happened this day”.

I don’t want to forget. I desire to be present to each sacred moment of life, each shared conversation, smile, and time together. I’m thankful to be alive. I’m thankful to be.

 

2 thoughts on “I almost died

  1. Thank you for sharing this Sarah. Near death experiences have a way of changing us, hopefully to be better, and brighter people than before. You are one of the most amazing people I know and I’m glad you are here.

  2. I remember getting that phone call from your mom when she took you in. 😦 Scary! I contacted that whole group who was so close freshman year, and we started praying for you, until your mom said you were going to be okay. We are all so glad you are alive!

Leave a Reply

