Interconnectivity of Oppression: Wild Goose part 2

At Wild Goose, I went to this really great talk by Brittany Ouchida on interconnectivity. What exactly is interconnectivity? That is precisely what I was wondering as I got out my drawing journal and colored pencils, and settled in to draw and listen.

She set up a dualistic paradigm – where some things/people are “good” or “better” or “strong” and other things/people are “bad” or “earthy” or “weak”. This presents a hierarchy where one party dominates another – God and the earth, men and women, us and them…you get the picture. This dualism permeates our culture, where for whatever reasons or qualifications, some people are deemed “better,” “more worthy,” “more intelligent,” or “more capable” than others.  In this system there is always a dominant party and an oppressed party.

This is complicated and heady stuff. As I listened, I started to draw lines and patterns of different colors all connecting together. The more she talked, the more I thought about how all kinds of oppression are connected, and all kinds of injustice are interrelated.

As a feminist, I’m fighting, writing, moving, and hoping towards equality for women. But aren’t all oppressed people and allies fighting for the same thing – equality? To get rid of the divide that says some people are more human, more normal, more powerful, than others?

And if this is true, that all injustices are related and connected, and that my oppression is intimately tied with the oppression of others, shouldn’t the injustices around me stir me to action? To solidarity? To compassion? To action?

 

Leave a Reply

