The thing about Valentine’s Day

I’ve had a love-hate relationship with Valentine’s Day. Some years I was so excited for it, others I joined the S.A.D (single awareness day) party and bemoaned a day devoted to love. Sometimes I would make little Valentine’s for friends, and sometimes I would scoff at the ridiculousness of stuffed animals and hearts everywhere.

heart blog

This year leading up to the dreaded day, I’ve been reflecting on a common theme through my Valentine’s Days. Each year I’ve been with people that I care about. Sometimes it was a boyfriend or crush or now my husband, and other times it was the other rebels who hated the damn day. Whether celebrating or protesting, I was with my friends, my family, the people who were important in my life.

And you know, that’s not so bad.

You don’t have to be sappy or a sell-out to be with people that you love and respect, and who have made a beautiful and sacred impact on your life. And you don’t have to be romantic or ridiculous to let them know how much they mean to you.

So to the celebrators and the protesters – I’m glad to know you, to have our paths cross, and to have shared in community, however brief, together. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

