Pruning the Roses

Dan and I moved into a house a couple weeks ago, and now have a yard to take care of! I noticed before we moved in that there were a few of rose bushes pretending to be trees in the front and back yard. So after we had enough boxes unpacked to walk around, I went out with some small shears, ready to prune the roses.

I started towns the front yard bush. When I got close I realized just how overgrown it was. Some stems were 8 or 10 or even 12 feet long! I started whacking, trying to guide the plant to a happier size. I noticed that the as the leaves got further away from the ground, they turned white. Mildew.

I chopped and chopped, in awe of the reaching limbs and wandering leaves. The arms were too much for the stock and as I cut, it seemed like the bush breathed easier.

With the bush looking smaller and lighter, I moved to the back. After a couple dozen chops, I noticed that some of the leaves were a different shape. It turns out wisteria had woven itself in and around the rose bushes. It was tangled and choking some of the branches.

An hour and a half later, you could tell that the trees were indeed rosebushes, and the wisteria was VERY trimmed.

There was something about pruning the roses that was simultaneously sad and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

