It’s been 2 years: A poem

Today marks 2 years since my grandma died. I miss her.

It’s been 2 years

I’ve been wearing her

earrings

all month

Remembering with

sighs and

tears and a smile

My grandma

 

It’s hard to remember

her last days

When cancer racked

her body until

she was just a wisp

Barely there in body

with spirit fading

 

I don’t like to think on

my final sight of her

After breath had

moved on and she lay

Stiller than I’ve ever

seen her

 

I think about being

a child. She made food

created a world for Christmas

Complete with a room

dedicated to wrapping

paper and presents

 

She knew how to

throw a party

And brought the whole

together with her

warm, magnetic self

 

I remember when she

got sick

And started to feel

tired and worn

She bore pain

with strong smiles

 

I can’t forget what she

taught me

About being me

and liking boys

About making a welcome

and never giving up

 

If I were able, to be like

her, an imperfect woman

Unafraid to love

boldly through a life

ordinarily lived

Strong and consistently

 

I hope I can carry

her persistent

constant compassion

Coupled with an honor

Of life, of love, of family

 

Goodbye again

but I’ll see you soon

Because I learned about

life from you

And when I live, you

can’t help but be there too

2 thoughts on “It’s been 2 years: A poem

Leave a Reply

