Poem for a new year

It’s a new year for this old blog, which I’m hoping to deepen and grow. I don’t know quite what that will look like, but for now, I’ll start with a poem that I wrote this week:

More than Enough

If I lived like
there was
more than enough
Maybe I would be
happy to see the
rain, coming in
winter to soak the
earth and water
the ants and other
creatures

Maybe I would
wake up in the
morning without anxiety
and tension in my
shoulders
Trusting in the
goodness to sustain
my body, resting
in the life that
surrounds me

If I lived like
there was
more than enough
Maybe I would give
money every time
I’m asked, and
offer to buy them
coffee, and hear
about their day

Maybe I wouldn’t worry
about time, and
having enough time
so that I’m always
rushing and late
and trying to do
too much

Maybe my life
would be simpler
with more sitting
in silence, more
room for awareness
more room for
living in this
moment, more asking
for help, more
partnering with
others, more laughter
and less fear to be
weak

If I lived like
there was
more than enough
I wouldn’t need
to judge or demean
those who think
differently, because
there would be
enough grace to
fill the room
And maybe in
talking and dreaming
together, we’ll
make a better
world, throw a
bigger party,
have more joy
in our hearts

If I lived like
there was
more than enough
I wouldn’t have to
be afraid, of change
of newness, of upheaval
and grief and letting
go, and staying here

If there was more
than enough
I could stop trying
to control everything
to end well in the end
because it is already
more abundant than
I could dream up

If there was more
than enough
then I wouldn’t
every have to be alone
against the world
We’d be holding hands
more, and hugging our
way to a city filled
with love and justice

If I lived like
there was
more than enough

 

© Sarah Klatt-Dickerson, 2016

2 thoughts on “Poem for a new year

Leave a Reply

